Spiral Goddess Doll: Free Crochet Pattern

I’m Paying It Forward on this one Fiber Friends!

I first discovered this Spiral Goddess doll pattern on Ravelry via a free pattern by Karmadia. Karmadia offered her Spiral Goddess pattern for free because she altered the pattern from another Hooker’s creation, so I felt that I should do the same and pay it forward by making my variation available for free as well.

The crochet pattern that you see below is the 3rd alteration of an original design created by Sootica’s Dream. Karmadia altered the pattern to be shaped a bit rounder and to suit her own personal proportion preferences and then I altered her pattern to create a much smaller variation of the design. At the bottom of the page, after the pattern, I have given the links to the other two Fiber Artist’s patterns as well so you can see the differences and choose whichever you prefer to hook up. I hope you enjoy this fun and easy little project and if you hook a Goddess up yourself please please tag me in your posts, I would love to show off your creativity! If you’re not following me already you can enjoy my Fiber Feed on Instagram by searching for @CloudCrochetCo

In the photo below you can see the size differences of each of the dolls. Doll #1 is the 2.0 pattern done with yarn. Doll #2 is the 3.0 pattern (my alteration) in yarn. Doll #3 is the 2.0 pattern in thread. (It is not pictured here but I did a doll in the 3.0 pattern using thread and it came out even smaller, it’s adorable!)

IMG_3318

Spiral Goddess 3.0 

(Revised by Cloud Crochet Co) 

Materials: Any yarn of your choosing and the hook that best accomodates it. (I used Red Heart Yarn with a Clover E Hook(3.5mm). Yes I’m aware that a size larger hook would work but I always go a size smaller when I am creating things that need to be stuffed as it gives your stitches a tighter weave)

Stitches Needed: Magic Ring/Magic Circle, Sc (Single Crochet), Inc (Increase = 2sc in one stitch), Dec (Decrease = sc 2 stitches together), SlSt (Slip Stich), FO (Finish Off = cinch closed and tie a knot to finish off the project) 

Pattern Instructions:

The head: 

*Works in the round*

1. Magic ring 5

2. Inc around (10)

3. 1 sc, inc (15)

4. 2sc, inc (20)

5-6. sc around (20)

7. 2sc, dec (15)

8. 1sc, dec (10)

9. Sc around (10)

Stuff the head and continue on to the midsection 

The midsection:

10. 1sc, inc (15)

11. 1sc, inc, [2sc, inc]x5, 1sc (20) 

12. 3sc, inc around (25)

13. 2sc, inc, [4sc, inc]x5, 2sc (30)

14. sc around (30) 

15. 2sc, dec, [4sc, dec]x5, 2sc (25)

16. Sc around (25) 

17. 3sc, dec (20)

18. 1sc, dec, [2sc, dec]x6, 1sc (15)

19.[sc, dec]x5 (10) 

The bottom:

*Please pay very close attention to your stitch count in the first 5 rows!

20. 1sc, inc (15)

21. 1sc, inc (22) {{the round count comes out to 22 BUT there is an extra stitch at the end so just go ahead and put a sc in it, shhhh, it’s ok, no one but you The Maker will notice, I promise 😉 }}

22. sc around (22)

23. sc, inc (33)

24. [3sc, inc]x11, 1sc (41) 

25-26. sc around (41) 

27. 3sc, dec [9sc, dec]x3, 3sc (37)

28. sc around (37) 

29. 1sc, dec, [9sc, dec]x3 , 1sc (33)

30. 9sc, dec (30)

31. 4sc, dec, [8sc, dec]x3, 4sc (27)

32. 7sc, dec (24)

33. 3sc, dec, [6sc, dec]x2, 3sc (21)

34. {i skipped the first stitch and counted the 2nd stitch as the first in my count to make the round come out even} 3sc, dec (16)

35. 2sc, dec (12) 

36. 2sc, dec (9)

37. sc, dec (6) 

38. 1dec, Slst and FO 

To FO (Finish Off) the bottom point I thread my tail through the back-loops of the 5 stitches and draw them together. Knot off and weave in remaining tail

Arms: 

*This will be one long tube. I suggest stuffing as you go.*

Chain 7

slip together to make a 6st ring.

sc around for approx. 38 rows.

Stitch ends to the mid section of the doll.

Shape so that the tube forms an arch around the head. (I don’t stuff the arms when doing this in crochet thread but you are welcome to, or even add a wire to make her more bendable if that suits you!)

Selling this pattern would be Bad Karma! Please do not sell this pattern or repost it claiming it as your own as all of us have made it available for free for the fiber community. If you would like to purchase your own doll made by me (Cloud Crochet Co) or would like to give a friendly donation for my efforts there are links below. As mentioned in the top of this post, I have attached the two other Goddess variation patterns that other women created below as well. Enjoy!

4155247765_cdbb5ddddf_z

Goddess Doll 1.0: Free Crochet Pattern

jpg_kofi_e1685e47-3325-4ccf-ac1f-6d8d8043ee0112471362_1509617792673876_6344495827750874478_o

Goddess Doll 2.0: Free Crochet Pattern

You can purchase your own Goddess Doll by clicking the Etsy Link below. I love designing unique things for special human beings, please feel free to message Me for custom ordering

Etsy: Cloud Crochet Co

IMG_3308

Did you enjoy this post? Please let me know in the comments below or feel free to Buy Me A Ko-Fi!

Ko-fi_Logo_RGB

One thought on “Spiral Goddess Doll: Free Crochet Pattern

Leave a comment